#RevelsConnects Storytime


Thurdays at 10am ET

Enjoy a weekly reading of children’s stories selected and read by some of our favorite authors, voice actors, and even Revels staff! A new video will be posted on the Revels YouTube Channel every Thursday at 10am EDT and will remain up so they’ll always be available. “Tune in” for great entertainment, life lessons, and a little inspiration.

Watch starting Thursday, April 16 – on the Revels YouTube Channel. Don't forget to subscribe!!

 


Snappsy_looking_down_250.jpgThursday, May 28, Simona Berman reads

Snappsy the Alligator (Did not Ask to Be in this Book) 
By Julie Falatko

Snappsy the alligator is having a normal day when a pesky narrator steps in to spice up the story. Is Snappsy reading a book ... or is he making CRAFTY plans? Is Snappsy on his way to the grocery store ... or is he PROWLING the forest for defenseless birds and fuzzy bunnies? Is Snappsy innocently shopping for a party ... or is he OBSESSED with snack foods that start with the letter P? What's the truth? 

Snappsy the Alligator (Did Not Ask to Be in This Book) is an irreverent look at storytelling, friendship, and creative differences, perfect for fans of Mo Willems.




The_Curious_Garden_SCREENSHOT_250.jpgThursday, May 14, Voice Actor Caroline Spinola reads

The Curious Garden

While out exploring one day, a little boy named Liam discovers a struggling garden and decides to take care of it. As time passes, the garden spreads throughout the dark, gray city, transforming it into a lush, green world.

This is an enchanting tale with environmental themes and breathtaking illustrations that become more vibrant as the garden blooms. Red-headed Liam can also be spotted on every page, adding a clever seek-and-find element to this captivating picture book.



Mufaros_Beautiful_Daughters_SCREENSHOT_resized.jpgThursday, May 14, 
Broadway and Voice Actor Emily Cramer reads

Mufaro's Beauitful Daughters

A Caldecott Honor and Reading Rainbow book, this memorable retelling of Cinderella is perfect for introducing children to the fairy tale as well as the history, culture, and geography of the African nation of Zimbabwe.

Inspired by a traditional African folktale, this is the story of Mufaro, who is proud of his two beautiful daughters. Nyasha is kind and considerate, but everyone—except Mufaro—knows that Manyara is selfish and bad-tempered.

When the Great King decides to take a wife and invites the most worthy and beautiful daughters in the land to appear before him, Mufaro brings both of his daughters—but only one can be queen. Who will the king choose?

Award-winning artist John Steptoe’s rich cultural imagery of Africa earned him the Coretta Scott King Award for Mufaro’s Beautiful Daughters. The book also went on to win the Boston Globe-Horn Book Award. 


mendels_accordion_250.jpgThursday, May 7, voice-over artist Nicholas Corda reads

Mendel's Accordion

A boy finds his great grandfather's accordion in the attic and with it the sweet history of klezmer music and the role the old accordion played in Jewish life through the years. 


 

 

 


 

The_Empty_Pot_250.jpgThursday, April 30, Sarah Natochenny reads

The Empty Pot 
Written & Illustrated by Demi

This is a story about a boy who loves flowers but is unable to grow one in the emperor's contest. Demi's exquisite art and beautifully simple text show how Ping's seeming failure is turned around in this satisfying tale of honesty rewarded.

"A beautifully crafted book that will be enjoyed as much for the richness of its illustrations as the simplicity of its story."—School Library Journal




Maybe_SOmething_BEautifu_160l.jpg

Thursday, April 23, Barrett Leddy reads

Maybe Something Beautiful: How Art Transformed a Neighborhood 

by F. Isabel Campoy (Author), Theresa Howell  (Author), Rafael López  (Illustrator) 

What good can a splash of color do in a community of gray? As Mira and her neighbors discover, more than you might ever imagine! Based on the true story of the Urban Art Trail in San Diego, California, Maybe Something Beautiful reveals how art can inspire transformation—and how even the smallest artists can accomplish something big. Pick up a paintbrush and join the celebration!

  


 

Wild_Washerwomen_cropped.jpgThursday, April 16, Gregory Maguire, author of Wicked, reads
The Wild Washerwomen by John Yeoman and Quentin Blake.

 Once upon a time there were seven unhappy washerwomen. They had far too much washing to do and the owner of the laundry, Mr. Balthazar Tight, was simply dreadful!

See what happens when these feisty washerwomen decide to escape from a very large pile of laundry and go on strike!